VMC | REPORT | AWARDS | Primary School Art Competition | Saturday 25 March 2017

[Edited extract from public address]

Victorians celebrated Cultural Diversity Week 2017 in many wonderful ways, from morning teas to posting their own stories of cultural heritage on social media.

A highlight of the Week was the presentation of the Primary School Art Competition awards during Victoria's Multicultural Festival's official proceedings.

The Primary School Art Competition called on budding young artists to think about our state's amazing diversity and creatively express what multiculturalism means to them.
The theme for this year’s competition was 'What’s Your Multicultural Story?’

Helen Kapalos, Chairperson of the Victorian Multicultural Commission, Robin Scott MP,  Minister for Multicultural Affairs, and Inga Peulich MLC, Shadow Minister for Multicultural Affairs, presented the winners and runners up with certificates on the Fed Square main stage on Saturday 25 March 2017.

Entries were received across three categories - drawing and painting, photography and short films - in three age groups.

Congratulations to this year's finalists:
Prep – Year 1   |   Drawing and Painting
• Winner: Hishan, Glen Waverley Primary School
• Runner up: Evelyn, Camelot Rise Primary School
Year 2 – Year 4   |   Drawing and Painting
• Winner: Buwanaji, Glen Waverley Primary School
• Runner up: Amali, Glen Waverley Primary School
Year 2 – Year 4   |   Short Film
• Winner: Year 3 and 4 Students, Vermont Primary School
Year 5 – Year 6   |   Drawing and Painting
• Winner: Danielle, St John Vianney's Catholic Primary School
• Runner up: Saleha, Clayton North Primary School

Visit the website to see the winning entries.

Each year schools play a huge role in engaging young Victorians in our state's diversity and the Victorian Multicultural Commission would like to thank all for participating.

Special thanks to the following schools that submitted entries to the 2017 Primary School Art Competition: Camelot Rise Primary School, Clayton North Primary School, Deer Park West Primary School, Glen Waverley Primary School, Holy Family Catholic Primary School Doveton,  Leibler Yavneh College, St John Vianney's Catholic Primary School Mulgrave, Truganina South Primary School and Vermont Primary School.

Victorian Multicultural Commission
Street: Level 3, 3 Treasury Place, East Melbourne VIC 3002
Post: GPO Box 4698, Melbourne VIC 3001
Tel: 03 9651 0651. For all grant related enquires please call 1300 366 356.
Email: info@vmc.vic.gov.au
Website: http://www.multicultural.vic.gov.au/